LACNIC, the Latin American and Caribbean Internet Addresses Registry, is an international non-government organization established in Uruguay in 2002. It is responsible for assigning and administrating Internet numbering resources (IPv4, IPv6), Autonomous System Numbers, Reverse Resolution and other resources for the region of Latin America and the Caribbean. It is one of the five Regional Internet Registries that exist worldwide.

LACNIC contributes to Internet development in the region through an active cooperation policy, promoting and defending the regional community's interests and helping create conditions that will allow the Internet to become an effective instrument for social inclusion and economic development in benefit of all Latin American and Caribbean countries and citizens.

It is managed and run by a Board of seven directors elected by LACNIC members –more than 4500 network operators providing services in 33 Latin American and Caribbean territories.


To lead the creation of synergies and initiatives for the construction of an open, stable and secure Internet at the service of the economic, social and cultural development of Latin America and the Caribbean.


The constant search for excellence in the management of Internet numbering resources for Latin America and the Caribbean, based on a culture of continuous innovation and adding value for our community by:

Continued strengthening of a secure, stable, open, and continuously growing Internet.

Promoting and enriching a multistakeholder, participatory and bottom-up Internet governance model.

Developing, promoting and adopting new technologies and standards.

Building relationships and cooperating with other organizations.

Developing regional capabilities by means of forums, training activities and cooperation projects.

Maintaining reliable information that will constitute a regional source of reference on Internet-related issues.

Timely responding to the expectations of our community within a changing en vironment.

Participating in international forums, contributing a regional perspective.

Coverage Area

LACNIC provides its services in 33 territories in Latin America and the Caribbean, including:

  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Belice
  • Bolivia
  • Bonaire
  • Brasil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Curazao
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Guyana Francesa
  • Haití
  • Honduras
  • Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
  • México
  • Nicaragua
  • Panamá
  • Paraguay
  • Perú
  • República Dominicana
  • Saba
  • San Eustaquio
  • San Martin
  • South Georgia and The South Sandwich Islands
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela